Pork Belly

4: Pork Belly

From what point of your past memory can you confidently say your memory starts?

Unless you write a diary everyday you won’t be able to remember anything clearly. Well, it might be true that you can remember a big event that etches itself in your memory. There is one such memory for me. Even though the event happened so long ago, I remember it like it was yesterday.

The event was very big that it also etched itself in someone else’s memory. It might be a tragedy that that person now relates me along with the event. Especially if the memory is not very refreshing one.

 

*

 

One day in May, when I became an initiator for worsening the relationship between Pork Belly and our classmates with the fight, Pork Belly was getting beaten by our teacher. Pork Belly did not bring in his homework and was getting his punishment. Our teacher swung his punishment stick into Pork Belly’s open palms until they were swollen red. I watched with my wrinkled brows. I wasn’t in a good mood.

For two weeks, I watched Pork Belly and found out few things about him and the interactions that he had with his peers and our teachers. I was bothered by Pork Belly since the fight and could not help but observe him from the distance. Even though Pork Belly’s attitude was neutral in the classroom, the students rejected him with contempt. Our teachers punished Pork Belly daily without much compassion and tolerance. Somehow, everything about how Pork Belly was treated in school got on my nerve.

At the time, I did not ask myself why I was feeling disturbed by what I found.

Maybe because I convinced myself that I did not have any psychological debt toward Pork Belly.

 

 

The last period of Wednesday was the art. Every students had on their aprons and carried water containers for our water color projects. We spread out our watercolor projects and was going to finish what we started on our last art period.

“Please finish your watercolor paintings and hand them in by today. Remember what I said? The school is going to pick the best painting and apply for an art state contest. When you guys are done, hand them to Yun-Su, he is going to gather and bring them down to the office.”

 

As soon as the teacher finished talking, the classroom became noisy with students moving about and finishing their watercolor paintings.

There was no doubt that Yun-Su’s painting was going to be picked but I could not help but get my hopes up.

 

I understood that Yun-Su was good at everything. He was smart, good with sports, and interacted well with his peers. Although he was better at everything else, I was confident that my drawing skill was at the same level as Yun-Su’s. Aiming to be picked along with Yun-Su’s watercolor painting, I started to paint the last of my colors in my painting. My piece was titled ‘a Trip in a Dream’. It was a painting fill with extravagant imagination and I liked what I created so far on my paper.

 

 

It was five minutes into the art period when the classroom echoed with the art teacher’s loud scolding. Everyone stopped what they were doing and turned their head to look.

“You didn’t bring them again? I told you last time to bring your supplies! What am I to do when you just sit there without any preparation?”

Our art teacher was a middle-aged woman who looked older than my mother. She was yelling with her high-pitched voice at Pork Belly who was bowing his head and staring at his desk.

“*sigh*.. You really..”

The teacher rubbed her temples as if she was tired of scolding him. She turned her attention over to Pork Belly’s desk pair and spoke in an irritated tone of voice.

“You, give him one of your watercolor papers.”

“Uhm.. This is my last paper.”

Taken aback, Pork Belly’s desk pair spoke in a small voice. The teacher frowned and turned her gaze over to the class.

She scanned one student at a time. The teacher seemed to be looking for a volunteer.

At that moment, my hand slowly rose up on their own.

 

“I.. will give it to him.”

 

I felt few of the student’s surprised gazes and turned red, but I got up from my seat and walked toward Pork Belly with my sketchbook. I stood in front of Pork Belly’s desk.

Then, without understanding what I was doing, I laid my sketching on Pork Belly’s desk. I was in shock still when I moved to tear off one of the papers from my sketchbook.

 

‘트르르륵~’(tearing sound; Thrururururuk(?))

However, it wasn’t only the sound of paper tearing from the spring that reached my ears.

“Shit.. Full of yourself.”

Pork Belly’s voice was very small, it barely reached my ears. He was also grinding his teeth. I stopped my hand for a few second before I finished tearing the paper and returning to my seat.

 

 

I repeated Pork Belly’s words over and over in my mind as I blamed myself for doing something unnecessary when I felt a light tap on my back.

“Good job.”

Is he complimenting me? Yun-Su nodded at me appreciatively with a solemn expression on his face. I was able to relax.

It was amazing how one nod from Yun-Su can relieve me of my distress. Whatever it was, it made me feel at ease when Yun-Su decided things. His decisions felt right.

Even though I did not make decision purely out of kindness, even though I was regretting my choice after I had made it, and even though I did not deserve any praise, Because of Yun-Su’s word, I felt better.

 

I was stupid then for being busy thinking about my own feelings and not thinking about how Pork Belly accepted my action.

That insensitive part about my thinking that day came back to bite me two days later.

 

Before arriving to school that morning, I was excited. The art teacher informed me and Yun-Su that both of our art works were chosen to represent our school and would be sent to compete in state art contest the day before. The teacher also told us that our art works would be hung up in the back of our classroom for a day. It was that day.

The class president had to follow our teacher to the office with all our paintings, so I got all the attention from the classmates. They came rushing over to me and offered their congrats. I accepted their praise with embarrassment and pride.


TN: Thank you for your support AllergictoHiking! I appreciate your support and will do my best on Pork Belly translation.

6 thoughts on “4: Pork Belly

  1. Thank you for your hardwork in providing the chapters!😊
    This is my second BL read,so can you tell whether it will be too heavy for a new reader to this genre like me?
    I am not sure of i can handle any extreme BL stuff….

    Liked by 2 people

    1. First of all, I am very flattered that you are confident in my opinion to provide a good BL novel -//-;; Thank you for putting your trust in me!

      For beginners, or any bl readers for that matter, I recommend a love story that blooms from with consent from both parties involved. They have to be vocal about their choices and have to understand their responsibility for the choice they are making. One of the examples in Korean BL is the author amine’s 모래안개숲의 신부 (translates to The Bride of Sand Storm Forest). The plot follows a teenager who lives in a village near a secret forest. Once in a while the forest guidance demands a bride and since they don’t have any females left in the village, they send the main character. One thing I like about the story is that the main character doesn’t know anything about baby making process and the author takes up many chapters to resolve this problem. This gives some time for readers to adjust and prepare for what is to come (and it comes). It presents the definition of a good relationship that springs from a good communication between partners. If you are interested I can give you the link to the raw, but this is just to give you an example.

      That being said, I will recommend few of the novels that I am reading on Novel Updates that I enjoy because of like the interactions between characters:

      1) How to Fall in Love with the Villain
      I like the first arch of this story so far. The story shows the consensual love between two characters. I don’t necessarily agree with some of the characters showing up purely for plot driving purpose but I still enjoyed the read!
      https://www.novelupdates.com/series/how-to-fall-in-love-with-the-villain/

      2) Reborn As a System
      The main character of this story does not have human form, so all he can do is to talk. There are subtle moments in the story that makes my heart tingle even though there are no sexual interactions between characters. Can’t wait until the next chapter!
      https://www.novelupdates.com/series/reborn-as-a-system/

      3) The Daily Life of Being the Campus Idol’s Fake Boyfriend
      This story links our two main characters when they are little. There are some misunderstandings between the two characters but I am sure they will persevere. We call this type of characters 삽질한다. It generally means character going around in circle without definite result. It could sometimes be frustrating but I like it better than forcing one’s feeling on someone else, if it makes sense.
      https://www.novelupdates.com/series/the-daily-life-of-being-the-campus-idols-fake-boyfriend/

      4) This way of Transmigration is Definitely Wrong!
      In this story, a writer transmigrates into his own story and interacts with his villain character. It sounds exciting and it IS exciting! Like the adventure that I am reading so far…No romance yet but I have high expectation!
      https://www.novelupdates.com/series/this-way-of-transmigration-is-definitely-wrong/

      5) Violant of the Silver
      This is another transmigration novel but it focuses not on adventure but rather economics and world building. The story makes you think and characters are solid. I like how the main character handles himself, very strong!
      https://www.novelupdates.com/series/violant-of-the-silver/

      6) Lord and Dragon
      I recommend any Shounen ai novels from the Novel Updates. There are not much risk from browsing around since the genre doesn’t include sexual content, but I especially recommend Lord and Dragon. The story begins like a slice of life but it quickly develops into something else (don’t know exactly what). The companionship between the two main characters was really sweet. Though they do talk about sex, the story doesn’t describe them. You can skip through it.
      https://www.novelupdates.com/series/lord-and-dragon/

      From here on out, I will recommend you some M/M romance and they DO comtain sexual content (be aware when you go in):

      7) Luck in the Shadows
      The main character develops and experience through various stages of life. The series is very long but you will be rewarded with epic fantasy and good character development.
      https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/74270.Luck_in_the_Shadows

      8) Wolfsong
      ANY of T.J. Klune’s books are good! I love his writing style and I love his books, especially Wolfsong. It is a love story between human and werewolf! So excited for the second book that is coming out! (I am not advertising! I am fan-girl-ing!) You can find free ebook of this on library app called overdrive.
      https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29233804-wolfsong

      9) Wicked Gentlemen
      Ginn Hale is another one of my favorite authors! Her writing is very poetic and descriptive. You can pick any of her book and enjoy the story. Wicked Gentlemen has two short stories so you don’t have to commit too much.
      https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1636228.Wicked_Gentlemen

      There are tones of other books that I can recommend to you but I will stop here. If you liked my recommendations I can post something separately. Know that I did not read everything on the Novel Updates so do not trust my list to be a complete list. Also I did not include some of the novels because even though I enjoy the story, I do not agree with some of characters’ decisions. I did not have chance to read full stories of the Novel Updates novels I recommended so I cannot guarantee their endings :/

      I hope I was some help! Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thank you very much for such a dedicated recommendations
        I am definitely going to try some of the above mentioned like
        1) How to Fall in Love with the Villain
        4) This way of Transmigration is Definitely Wrong!
        5) Violant of the Silver
        6) Lord and Dragon
        I like this 4 the most suitable to me and for now i am not trying the hardcore stuff,as i think i am not ready for it
        I really like your opinion as i agree the first novel i read on this genre was were the character was forced(raped) into that stuff and that really left a bad taste😖,which caused me to lose interest in BL gerne.
        But i saw pork belly and just tried it on whim,i really liked the interaction till now and got excited to see more,so it made me think about reading this genre once again.
        The story of The Bride of Sand Storm Forest is really interesting and alluring but sadly i can’t read Korean neither can i stand the quality of a MTL😓,so i guess i have to wait for it to be translated
        Once again thank you for your kind recommendation and your hard work for translating novels😄
        I wil start reading your recommendation after reading more chapters of pork belly as i am currently on it,then slowly start reading other☺️
        Thank you.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment