doodles and writing drafts

Draft: Chapter 4 (Independent)

CHAPTER 4

PERSPECTIVE OF ILUZ CLUFAWOM

Enjoyment is secondary element of living. It always has been, and it will always will be. The imminent works piled up in my study is proof of that. This is all for one thing and one thing only: survival. I learned long ago that the offense is the greatest defense. I must bid my time and wait for the right opportunity to strike otherwise I will be dead before I have time to blink. If I miss a step, I know Strafin will take the chance to end my life. It is either me or him.

When I first saw Strafin, it was when I turned five. I do not remember much of what happened in that first encounter, but I remember his twisted serpent eyed look. Strafin’s skillfully hidden fangs only showed itself few days after my fifth birthday. A group of Seles assassins came through my windows and grabbed me from my bed. I knew the moment we crossed sword that they were sent by one of our royal family. The assassins were wielding the sword that was forged for those who serve the royal family. I suspected few of father’s bastards, but they did not have the same authority or connection to have planned the attack.

I suspected my younger brother, but the number of attacks only increased after his death. With uncertainty, I studied Strafin’s connections to my attacks it all started to make sense. It was my father all along, he was the one behind all the torments. At first, I did not understand. I was angry but convinced myself that there must be reason for Strafin’s attempted murders. It took me two years to realize the truth, I wasn’t Strafin’s blood. Strafin married his half-sister, my mother, knowing her pregnancy. Strafin promised my mother that I will be raised as his own but his attitude changed when his real offspring was born whom I murdered.

Instead of killing me right away, Strafin decided to toy with me in effort to induce tenfold of suffering. He can easily kill me any time he wants. I needed a way to survive him and only way was for me to become an emperor.

Attacks continued, and frequency of the attach increased. They came when I least expected. The more I scheme against him, the more Strafin’s amusement seems to grow along with his anger.

By the time I reached twelve, I was also enjoying our little game.

I learned not to trip on every string Strafin hung in my ways and dodge the deathly blows to my life. I created a network of people in the palace and trusted only myself. I placed my pawns carefully and minimized the casualties if it meant cutting off my own people.

I lured Strafin’s men out to the battle field and cut them down when we were at war instead of my enemies. It took four years to wrap up my array of enemies in my clasp when I came back, I came back victorious. When Strafin suggested us taking in one of Sidriel’s offspring as a hostage I didn’t think much of it. What could a measly hostage do to change the game? It was possible that Strafin was getting desperate.

Did I truly corner him? I thought as I sipped my wine after lunch.

The report in my hand states that one of the border towns up in north is requesting for grains because of recent famine. I check and compare the reports of surrounding border town. It seems that other towns are doing fine. In fact, other border towns expended. I call for high Vizier.

“Send in soldiers to make sure there is no discourse amongst border towns.”

He bows and leaves the dinning room.

I was experiencing light-headedness. I noticed that my wine was liaised with poison, but I drank it knowing I will be fine. Mithridatism is something I practiced three years ago. I will have to find this the rat that poisoned my drink before it escapes. I intend to interrogate him myself.

A servant comes into the dining room bearing Strafin’s message. The emperor wishes for me in the throne room.

*

“Father.”

I kneel beside Strafin and kiss one of his rings.

“Rise.”

I rise and stand beside him.

“We are expecting a guest, Ramiel Doommantle.”

“I am not interest in son of a whore.”

“Now, Iluz, there is no harm in knowing who our hostage is.”

What could Strafin possibly gain from this hostage?

Few moments later, a thin body entered the room. The insignificance of his presence fouled my mood. Weak things are unnecessary to this world.

As I watched the small form kneeling before the throne, a fever started to creep up. It must be from my body processing the poison.

“It is an honor to have an audience with emperor Strafin.”

A little boy spoke in Eswellian. The pronunciation was off but there was a confidence. This boy knew how to get attention of a crowd. Very strange quality in a boy. Especially in a boy who was in isolation his whole life.

“Welcome to Eswell, I hope your recuperation from the journey is going well.”

“Much thanks to your emperor Clufawom’s care, my health is recovering.”

“I am surprised that you can speak Eswellian so fluently, I was under the impression that you were… not equipped with much education.”

I couldn’t see the boy’s face but I was sure he coughed a laugh. I assumed he was laughing at himself.

“You were right in your assumption, but much has changed since just couple of months ago.”

“… It is impressive that you learned Eswellian in just couple of months and at such level.”

It is impressive indeed. The boy knew how to study. There is more to the boy then what the rumors had let out.

“You are too generous with your praise emperor Strafin.”

“You may look up.”

If I remember correctly, the boy had an interesting name, Ramiel. The angel of resurrection. Unlike the name, the boy did not look like angel of anything; his skins much ghostly, his stature too small, and his face too delicate. The only good thing about him was his pale grey eyes. The coloring is something I’ve seen before but the intensity of it is what attracted my attention. As I gaze into those fervent stares, a surprising warmth filled my stomach. It must be the poison.

When I averted my eyes down to Strafin, his eyes were smiling. He was amused. Strafin liked what he saw. It could be both good and bad news for the boy.

“If it is not too much trouble, I would like to make a small request to emperor Strafin.”

oh

“oh.”

This was getting interesting.

“If you can assign me any task, I would like to earn my keep in the palace.”

“That would be outrageous given that you are my guest.”

Strafin was playing with his food. This quality of my father I hate the most. I cannot count how many times I yield into his nonchalance. The pretense of innocence gives away how much fun he is having.

Few moments of silence later the boy melt down to the floor on all fours and pleads to Strafin.

“Please, I would like to be of any help to emperor Strafin. If you may, please, reconsider before denying me the pleasure in serving you.”

The desperation in boy’s plea makes me wonder what he is really after.

“….psh…P..PHAHAHAHAHAHA”

The joy Strafin craves are very twisted and poisonous. It is the joy created from stepping on powerless and begat from tortured soul.

“There is nothing more amusing then seeing a person struggling for their lives. Don’t you agree Iluz.”

“…and nothing more revolting.”

This perverted version of happiness Strafin gets off is most revolting.

A chill runs up and down my spine as I steady my gaze toward the boy. Whatever this boy’s purpose is in my father’s little game, I will cut it down and have my victory. This boy will change nothing.

“very interesting.”

The boy turns his gaze toward Strafin. My mind is getting foggy.

“Please emperor. I do not wish for anything else.”

“…uhm. If you insist, I will consider your offer.”

A very enthusiast expression fills the boy’s face. Through my hazy vision, the boy’s smile light up the throne room like a sun. His face changes with every expression he makes, at that instant, Ramiel was like a rock thrown into my steady stream of consciousness.

“Thank you so much emperor! I will do utmost best for whatever task you bestow me.”

*

“What do you think?”

After the boy’s departure, the room was quiet. I waited for the dismissal but instead Strafin stares up at me from his throne.

“What do I think about the boy or the rat you sent me this morning?”

“the latter, of course.”

Liar, Strafin already knows what I think about the rat. He knows I ingested the poison and is now stalling time to see if the poison has any effect on me.

“I caught the rat and I will to pass your regards when I make an example of it.”

“Don’t be too rough. As you said, it is just a rat.”

“I see you liked our hostage.”

“Yes, he is quite a character. I would very much like him in my bed.”

A revolting image of two naked figures in bed flashed through my mind.

“Was that your intension for the boy?”

“Yes. I thought I might want to tame a new toy.”

“Killing him will be a greater mercy.”

“Why? Do you think you will use him any differently?”

“I do not have any intension of sleeping with that boy if that is what you are asking.”

“How about a wager?”

“A wager?”

“Yes, I was getting bored from all the courtly nonsense so why not have some fun.”

“… What do you suggest we do?”

“How about we test your endurance? Why don’t we have the boy as your personal Balneumer. As long as you do not sleep with the boy I will not send my rats after you, I’m sure, you can use some peace and quiet, however if you fail, the boy is mine without question.”

I do not know what Strafin wants but there was nothing I could lose from the bet or so I thought.

Leave a comment