Book Reviews & Personal Thoughts

Book Review: Wolfsong by T.J. Klune

WOLFSONG.jpg

TITLE: Wolfsong

AUTHOR: T.J. Klune

PUBLISHED DATE: 2016 by DREAMSPINNER PRESS

PLOT: Ox lives in a small town called Green Greek. Ox’s father leaves Ox when he was twelve, so he lives with his mother. Some times pass and Ox meets a small kid named Joe on a dirt road. Joe describes Ox’s smell as “it’s all candy canes and pinecones and epic and awesome.”

MY THOUGHT: Before anything, I would like to put R18 on this novel. There are scenes in there but not too many (spoilers: there are about two). I don’t know where but I read the sneak peek of the novel. It was the scene where Ox and Joe first meets. It was so sweet and abrupt that I did not know what to think, but I was hooked. I love T.J. Klune’s books for couple of reasons: 1) they are hilarious (he writes quirky and awkward dialogues and combine them with sexual innuendos) 2) give heavy subjects some room (he writes in short sentences and repeats them so to settle those words into your heart instead of hurrying them through) 3) uses unexpected words to describe the scene so when you think about the words you remember the scene (it’s like a whipped cream on a pie; If I give you an example, one of the scene described Joe and his sibling fighting and Joe’s another sibling describing the scene to Ox as ‘fratricide’ and I never heard of that word until I read the book, now the word is in my memory with the scene from the book).

Joe and Ox are great together. Their relationship progresses slow-paced but I like it that way. They loved each other but they weren’t each other’s equal until towards the end. Through loss of their loved ones, they became stronger and became each other’s support. The book is about those bonds and how they came to be.

There are other novels out there, but I like the Wolfsong the most for now because it has supernatural element, happy ending, relatable characters, and, for me, right amount of comedy.

If I had to point out two things that I sort of didn’t like about the book was, one, editing wasn’t very thorough because I spotted two sentences that are not complete and, two, the text layout in the book is a bit inconvenient. When I open the paperback of the book, I had to open it up all the way because the texts are positioned closer to the spine. Because I had to open up until the very spine of the book to read, the book spreads out like a fan when leave it alone on a table. You wouldn’t have this problem if you are reading it from an ebook, though.

The second book (Ravensong) is coming out soon and I can’t wait!

Here is how you can read this book (I am not advertising, but wants to introduce the options):

  1. Buy it off Amazon. It is $17.99. Used books are $12.55 (this might change depending on the seller). E-book is $5.38.
  2. Reading it in e-book form. There is a library app called overdrive. I use this all the time to listen to books (because I don’t like too much screen time). All the books that the library brought in e-book or audio book forms are free (if you have library card)!

Leave a comment