Book Reviews & Personal Thoughts

Book Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

carryon.jpg

TITLE: Carry On

AUTHOR: Rainbow Rowell

PUBLISHED DATE: October 6, 2015 by St. Martin’s Press

PLOT: Simon Snow is in last year of his magical high school. However, there is something more special about Simon other than the fact that he goes to a magical school, he is a chosen one! Does this sounds familiar? Yes, the premise of this book is adopted from Harry Potter. What does this book do differently that makes it special? Well, the ending is different and the few other things.

MY THOUGHTS: I read this last year and I had huge expectation for this book. When I read the part one of this book, however, I was a bit disappointed. I was not happy because, Simon Snow came across to me as a bland character. Throughout the part one of the book, Simon explained why he hated his roommate, Baz. I felt like he was very obsessive. Maybe I would be too when I live with a person I hate, but I almost stopped reading the book half way. I persevered because I knew the book was setting up back stories and was trying to explain things for the upcoming events. I am not going to go too much in detail but part two came along and things seem to be moving along.

There were one or two scenes I liked, the ending was ideal and the dialogues were enjoyable, but in general the plot was a bit confusing. I did understand where the plot was going but I didn’t quiet understand why things had to happen the way they did, if that makes any sense.

In short, I needed more time with the characters and I wanted more interactions between Simon and Baz. As a young adult romance novel, it gave me enough of what I wanted but not more.

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

  1. I felt like reading Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell first would have helped. I like her books but Carry On seems to be the only m/m book she’s written.
    Anyway, I really liked way she depicted the girls in Simon’s life. Especially, how she added Agatha’s perspective at the end. (I’m not a fan of how women tend to be vilified in yaoi.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree that there aren’t many cool girls in Yaoi. Agatha knew what she wanted and i admire her character for pursuing what she wants without feeling sorry. Thank you for sharing your experience reading this book! I should read FanGirl next to know what i’ve missed. 😀 excited!

      Like

  2. I really liked it but that might be because I read Fangirl previously so it made more sense. I do agree with your opinion on part one as I felt that it was a bit slow and so was kind of disappointed but honestly I found the rest of it amazing

    Like

Leave a comment