doodles and writing drafts

Draft: Chapter 8 (Independent)

CHAPTER 8

*

My Eswellian improved tremendously since I came to live in the empire. My health also improved to the point that I felt like I could walk for miles and still have energy to go on. It has been two days since my last visit from emperor’s bad chamber, but I could not think of a way to “complete my duty”, so, naturally, I ignored them. Dado did not visited me or contacted me since the incident from the garden, so I was almost sure that he was lying when he said he will come and find me.

Today, I was immersed in learning about Eswellian history. I did previously read about how the current emperor came into power and his way of politic but nothing interesting or helpful was in the records. Now I grabbed topics of country’s origin and its background.

I still have some trouble translating the texts but with the help of a dictionary and Megan’s guidance, I persevered with my readings. My usual morning session with Iluz was uneventful and I was very glad of his indifference. I felt strange being so close to him when I know that I was supposed to do that with him. Nothing bothering my consciousness, I positioned myself on one of the cushioned seat and started reading from where I left off from the previous evening. These stories of god and goddesses were read like a fairy tale for me and was part of a rare entertainment in this computerless-world.

There once was a void. Naturally, the void needed to be filled, so there came a pair of opposites. Chaos and order entered the void and filled it with opposites like themselves.

This closely resembled pagan mythology from Greek. This must be because this world was build based on our original world. Even though author must not have written down all the details of this world, they still exist within the world. It was very interesting concept. If the author thought of the system and its building materials, the world built itself up and filled in the gap, turning a story into a reality.

The story continued. Light and dark, good and evil, and living and dead, one by one worlds were built. As life on earth developed, chaos felt less and less welcomed. Everything seemed to follow a law of their own and not many things were up to chaos’s assistance. Chao, in the mist of loneliness, found order and spoke to it.

[I would like to make children of my own] Chaos opened.

[Alright, how can I help you?] Order asked cheerfully, wanting nothing more than to give chaos happiness.

[I am going to scatter myself throughout the worlds. Eyes will become Qilins, my heart will become black creatures, my lungs will circulate magic into the world, and my hands will be left to you so you may control my parts when necessary.]

Upon hearing this, Order was depressed and shed a single tear which became Ceryneian Hind (also known as the golden hind).

With Order’s blessing, Chaos parted into numerous magical creatures of the worlds, forever becoming part of the worlds. In despair of losing his one family, Order went away into the ruin but not before he gave Golden Hind Chaos’ hands. Order instructed the hind to look after the worlds during his absence.

The Golden Hind called himself Ewan, the youth. Wherever Ewan lived, birds sang their most beautiful songs, greeneries grew taller and brighter, and humans left their fortunes of various kinds on his alter. Dark creatures dare not offend Ewan, so they kept within their boundaries and cause less trouble then they ought to. Ewan used the hands of Chaos to balance the magic between the worlds and to resolve the conflict between the dark and light creatures.

This Golden Hind’s story interested me very much and was about to search for additional information about him in the book when Gemina found me. I was up to the part where Ewan led a war between two groups of men when Gemina cleared her throat.

“Master Ramiel, a person named Dado wishes to have an audience with you.”

“oh, guide him to the living quarter and bring out some tea, if you please.”

“Dado wishes to meet you in the garden, master Ramiel.”

“…okay, tell him that I will be right out.”

I hurriedly dressed myself in thicker clothing and walked briskly to where Dado stood waiting.

*

Autumn was coming, and winds were getting chillier every passing day.

I wasn’t fan of chilly weather, so I often wrapped myself in a blanket and read my books when I was little. Even when I grew up, I kept my habit of burying myself in books during winter. Grandfather approved of my hibernation with books and joined me occasionally by the fire when he was not busy with writing. I would sip my coffee while grandfather drank his hot chocolate. We talked about silly topics and discussed about what each book lacked or did well. My love for those times grew brighter as new memories coated the last. A nostalgia hit me right on my nose and I sniffed, trying to subside the feeling. Dado walked quietly alongside me while I studied his profile.

Grandfather was not kind man, but he was not cruel either. Watching Dado carrying himself, I could not help but compare Dado to my grandfather. Although their personalities are different, I felt that Dado was like my grandfather in his mannerisms and his views of the world.

“It is rude to stare.”

“…you’re right, sorry.”

Dado pointed, and I turned my gaze to the front.

“So, are you free today to help me?” I casually inquired.

“Yes, although I am a man of limited resources, I will try to do what I can.”

“Okay, that’s good enough. But first, can you promise me that you will not tell anyone about what we will talk about today?”

“…what good is my words when I can easily break them?”

“…you are right, again, but your words can give me reassurance. Also your words mean more to me than anyone’s I know in Eswell. My instinct tells me that I can trust you.”

“…I promise, I will keep quite.”

“Thank you.”

We walked some more in silence until we reached a small gazebo with garden benches. We set down.

I collected my thoughts. Since I came into this world, I’ve been looking for a way to steal an object. In the story, Ramiel and his friend from the forest needed an object to escape the palace. Orret was this friend’s name. Since I am not living within the forest like the original plot intended, I had no way of meeting Orret. What I needed to do, more than building a friendship with Orret, is to acquire that priceless object that Orret claimed to be in the main palace in the story.

The problem was, the book did not describe what that object exactly was. Without knowing what I needed to steal, it made my job that much harder. I needed more information about Orret and his circumstances.

“Do you know about the forest located in the far side of the palace walls?”

“…Yes, I heard some rumors about them.”

“Do you have any information about what or who might be living there?”

“… May I ask, why you need to know such a thing?”

Wave of anxiety lapped at my heart. I was not prepared to answer Dado truthfully about this matter. It is possible that Dado might think me mad once he learns of my plan and about Orret, a person whom I’ve never met but know to be in the forest.

“I…”

I looked down at my hands and bit my lower lip. Lying wasn’t something difficult but it seems hypocritical to expect Dado to be truthful while I was not.

“I can’t tell you right now, but I will tell you when time is appropriate.”

Dado did not say anything for some time before he commented I can speak Eswell well. Dado also told me that he will bring related books or records about the forest next time he visits.

“wouldn’t it be better if we meet somewhere we can’t be seen by anyone? We can designate a tree trunk to put our messages in like in a spy movie!” I said.

“…Spy movie?”

“Never mind that, do you have any place in mind?”

“I know a tree near east entrance of the garden to the library. No one really goes that way except me. I can mark the tree with red string for you to find.”

“oh, that sounds exciting. We can leave notes to designate our next meeting spot.”

I detected something was bothering Dado. He was thinking deeply about something. I waited until he seems ready to open.

“Is there something bothering you, Dado?”

“…I cannot get involve with you too much. My service is with the emperor and not you. I do own you a debt, but I’ll consider it paid when I hand you the information you need.”

Dado turned his head to face me and continued.

“I do not wish for you to find me again after we are done.”

The stern request stung me a little, but I swallowed my hurt. When I spoke, my voice was steady.

“Of course, I understand. As soon as we are done, your service will be unnecessary.”

Leave a comment