Book Reviews & Personal Thoughts

Book Review: we are the ants by Shaun David Hutchinson

ANTS400600.jpeg

TITLE: we are the ants

AUTHOR: Shaun David Hutchinson

PUBLISHED DATE: January 19th 2016 by Simon Pulse

PLOT: Henry Denton has problems. The aliens occasionally abduct him, and there is the thing with his family. He acts normal in school but in truth he is breaking down from inside out, so when the aliens bring Henry to a room with a red button which could save the earth from upcoming destruction he is conflicted.

MY THOUGHTS: I downloaded the audiobook from Overdrive at one o’clock in the morning, to listen as I fall asleep. Imagine my surprise when I had to get up from my bed before noon without a wink of sleep. From the very beginning, I was hooked into the story and the character because the book asks all the questions I asked myself numerous times in the past. There are lots of drama in the story and I just can’t get enough of the interactions between our two main characters. I actually prefer this book over Simon vs. Homo sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli and Call Me by Your Name by André Aciman. I say this because of couple of reasons (personal opinions ahead):

one. This book has a supernatural elements (even if it might be an imagination (I personally don’t think so)), it has aliens in it!

two. Henry is my kind of main character. Let me elaborate by saying that Henry has much toned down personality. Different characters react differently to their problems and I relate more with Henry’s reaction to situations than Simon’s.

three. The interactions between Henry and his love interest make you anticipate. I am not sure how to describe their relationship but they ask all the right questions for each other. They understand, somehow, how to approach each other’s wound. They are fun together in their own ways.

Some of you might wonder why I did not capitalize the title like this: We Are The Ants. I could ask the same question about the title on the book cover as you can see on the image above. Is there special reason why the title is all in the lower case letters? Let me tell you now that you will be pondering much more when you finish reading this book.

My intention wasn’t to bash on Simon vs. Homo Sapiens Agenda. Although I did compare the two books, I only did so because the books are polar opposites of each other. While Simon vs. Homo Sapiens Agenda has a movie of its own, we are the ants is not as well known (well it is much popular compared with some of independent writer’s works). I did not mention much about Call Me by Your Name simply because I couldn’t finish the book. I started reading it because of my friend’s recommendation but for some odd reasons, I didn’t enjoy reading it.

Simon vs. Homo Sapiens Agenda was a good book, but not as good as everyone says (it is over-hyped). I did enjoyed the funky dialogues and pop culture references in the book. The movie was faithful to the book to some degree, but the level of drama was bit over the top. But all in all, both the movie and the book are cute.

If you are interested:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23677341-we-are-the-ants

Amazon price:

Kindle: $8.99/ Hardcover: $12.59 (used) $2.99/ Paperback: $7.48 (used) $5.49

Or go to Overdrive for free library ebook and audiobook form of we are the ants.

Leave a comment